Study abroad?

Study-related stays abroad

The dream of many students is to spend a study-related phase abroad during their studies. The motivation for this is manifold:

  • to acquire new academic knowledge
  • get to know other teaching and learning systems
  • experience the world of work in another country
  • to improve the knowledge of foreign languages
  • to get to know foreign cultures
  • make new friends
  • to develop personally further
  • ...

No matter what your motives are, whether you are planning to study in France or write your thesis in Spain, or whether you want to do an internship in Italy. The KIT Faculty of Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering maintains numerous partnerships within the framework of which you can realize your plans and carry out a study-related stay abroad.

Ways to go abroad

As a student at the KIT Faculty of Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering, there are numerous ways to go abroad. Erasmus+ will be discussed here. For information on further programs, please contact the International Students OfficeExternal Linkcentrally for all KIT students.

Recommendation for the time of the stay abroad
 
Field reports

Bachelor

In the Bachelor's programmes, a possible stay abroad should take place after the end of the 5th semester at the earliest, when a large part of the examinations have been passed successfully. Additional modules or an industrial internship (coordination via KOOR Best) can then be completed abroad.

In exceptional cases and only in consultation with a lecturer of the CIW faculty, the Bachelor thesis can also be written abroad.

Master

In the case of a stay abroad during the Master's programme, it is recommended to complete the technical supplementary subjects, additional subjects or the industrial internship. It is also possible to complete parts of the specialisation subjects or extended basics abroad. However, this has to be discussed in advance with the person responsible for the specialisation subjects or, in the case of the extended fundamentals, with the lecturer. An examination schedule agreement (see Registration - Procedere, point 7) has to be filled in and signed together with the Learning Agreement.

I would like to go abroad - What to do?

You will find the following information on stays abroad within Europe (Erasmus) and outside Europe

Stay abroad with Erasmus

Erasmus: partnerships with selected European universities (see list under Partnerships)

 

1. expression of interest for WS 2022/2023 and SS 2023
For this purpose, please fill in the form "Expression of Interest" and send it by email to marion benoitHio3∂kit edu until 21.01.2022.

2. advice from the Erasmus coordinator should preferably be given before the selection procedure. For this, please register for the consultation by email to Prof. Grohmann (steffen grohmannJnv8∂kit edu).

3. selection procedure will take place in the last week of January/first week of February
In view of the limited number of places available and the desire of students to attend universities where only English is required as proof of language ability, a nomination to the university of their choice cannot be guaranteed. Selection is made - if possible - according to interest, but also by means of proof of performance and/or by drawing lots.

4. after the selection procedure, applicants will be informed by email for which university they have been selected. Applicants will also be informed if the application was not successful.

5) A list of the selected students will be sent by Ms. Benoit to the International Students Office by mid-February.

The selected students will then receive a link from the International Students Office to the application form in Mobility Online. There they have to enter their personal and mobility data. Students will also receive all further information from the International Students Office.

6. the Learning Agreement (Learning Agreement) must be submitted by email to Mrs Benoit for examination and signature. Please always submit only the relevant pages, e.g. before the mobility "Before the Mobility" or in case of changes during the mobility "During the Mobility". The signed Learning Agreement will then be sent back to the students by email after signature and can then be submitted to the partner university or uploaded to Mobility Online.

7. students who wish to have compulsory modules in the Bachelor, parts of the specialisation subject or an extended basis in the Master must obtain approval from the subject representative in advance. The following form must be used for this: Examination plan agreement for the recognition of academic achievements. The Examination Plan Agreement must be submitted together with the Learning Agreement.

8. for the recognition of the technical supplementary subject it is advisable to send a short summary of the contents to Mrs. Benoit so that it can be checked whether the subject is "technical" enough and recognition is possible. Please pay attention to the level of the technical supplementary subject. For students in the Master's programme, the Technical Supplement must also have Master's level.

Important change of the application deadlines: There is only ONE application deadline left !

Applications for the summer semester must also be submitted for the winter semester

Internal application deadline (Ms Benoit) for applications: 22.01.

Application deadline IStO for applications:15.02.

Remaining places can also be awarded at a later date, but in this case there is no guarantee of a scholarship.

The crediting of services rendered abroad is done by Mrs. Benoit. For this purpose, the students go to Mrs. Benoit, Geb. 40.51, room 304, with the Transcript of Records issued by the partner university. In times of Corona: Please send the Transcript of Records by email !

Recognised performances are accepted with a grade, if the grades received can be transferred to our grading system. The basis for the transfer of grades is the table of the TU Berlin.

Formal responsibility (including grading) for the Master's thesis by subject representatives from the local faculty must be secured in advance.

Recognition is granted after examination by the Traineeships Office, if necessary. Information on industrial internships abroad can be obtained from KOOR/BEST.

General or technical advice:

  • experienced students
  • Specialist representative(s) with contacts
  • Erasmus Coordinator

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Steffen Grohmann

Institute for Technical Thermodynamics and Refrigeration
Refrigeration and cryogenics
Building 40.32, room 132
Consultation hours: Tuesday 14.00 - 15:30
Steffen GrohmannBjw7∂kit edu
Phone +49 721 608 - 42332

General recommendations of the faculty for stays abroad in the Bachelor and Master programmes

Bachelor

Electives, additional modules or an industrial internship can be completed abroad, as well as the bachelor thesis in consultation with a faculty representative.

Master

In the case of a stay abroad during the Master's programme, the industrial internship, modules or even sub-modules of the Master's curriculum can be completed after consultation with the respective module supervisors of the faculty. The simplest are technical supplementary subjects, interdisciplinary qualification and additional services (see above)

Working Group Erasmus


The working group Erasmus is a student university group, which on the one hand takes care of incoming foreign students in Karlsruhe and on the other hand advises Karlsruhe students about the possibilities to study abroad.

Within this framework, the working group offers, among other things, a weekly consultation hour in which Karlsruhe students can get advice on the possibilities of studying abroad. Students also have the opportunity to visit the homepage of the working group (www.ak-erasmus.de) itself.



Stay abroad outside Erasmus

Information from the International Students Office (IStO)(www.intl.kit.edu/ostudent)
technical advice: professional representative

Example: Ba-Wü program

KIT - Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik

Informationen für "Outgoing Students"

Studienbezogene Auslandsaufenthalte

Traum vieler Studierender ist es, während des Studiums eine studienbezogene Auslandsphase einzulegen. Die Motivation hierfür ist vielfältig:

  • neue akademische Kenntnisse zu erwerben
  • andere Lehr- und Lernsysteme kennenzulernen
  • die Arbeitswelt in einem anderen Land zu erfahren
  • die Fremdsprachenkenntnisse zu verbessern
  • fremde Kulturen kennenzulernen
  • neue Freundschaften zu schließen
  • sich persönlich weiter zu entwickeln
  • ...

Video: Erfahrungen im Ausland für die Karriere

Ganz egal, welche Beweggründe Sie leiten, ob Sie ein Studium in Frankfreich planen oder Ihre Abschlussarbeit in Spanien schreiben wollen, oder ob Sie ein Praktikum in Italien machen möchten. Die KIT-Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik pflegt zahlreiche Partnerschaften, in deren Rahmen Sie Ihr Vorhaben umsetzen und einen studienbezogenen Auslandsaufenthalt durchführen können.

Wege ins Ausland

Als Student/in an der KIT-Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik stehen Ihnen zahlreiche Wege ins Ausland zur Verfügung. Auf Erasmus+ soll hier eingegangen werden. Informationen zu den weiteren Programmen erhalten Sie vom  International Students Office External Link zentral für alle KIT-Studierenden.

Empfehlung zum Zeitpunkt des Auslandaufenthaltes

Bachelor

In den Bachelor-Studiengängen sollte ein möglicher Auslandsaufenthalt frühestens nach Ende des 5. Semesters stattfinden, wenn ein Großteil der Prüfungen erfolgreich abgelegt ist. Es können dann im Ausland Zusatzmodule oder ein Industriepraktikum (Koordination über KOOR Best) absolviert werden.

In Ausnahmefällen und nur in Absprache mit einem Dozenten der Fakultät CIW kann auch die Bachelor-Arbeit im Ausland angefertigt werden.

Master

Im Falle eines Auslandsaufenthalts während des Master-Studiums wird empfohlen, die technischen Ergänzungsfächer, Zusatzfächer oder das Industriepraktikum zu absolvieren. Es können auch Teile der Vertiefungsfächer oder erweiterten Grundlagen im Ausland absolviert werden. Dies muss aber vorab mit dem Vertiefungsfach-Verantwortlichen bzw. bei den erweiterten Grundlagen mit dem Dozenten abgesprochen werden.  Eine Prüfungsplanvereinbarung (s. Outgoing Students, Punkt 6) muss ausgefüllt und unterschrieben zusammen mit dem Learning Agreement eingereicht werden.

Informationen zu Auslandsaufenthalten (Outgoing Students)

Informationen zu Auslandsaufenthalten innerhalb Europas (Erasmus) und außerhalb Europas

Auslandsaufenthalt mit Erasmus

Erasmus: Partnerschaften mit ausgewählten europäischen Universitäten (Liste s. unter Partnerschaften)

Outgoing Students

Anmeldung - Ablauf

1. Interessenbekundung für WS 2021/2022 und SS 2022
Hierfür bitte das Formular "Interessenbekundung" ausfüllen und bis zum 22.01.2021 per Email schicken an marion benoitRzw7∂kit edu.

2. Beratung durch Erasmus-Koordinator soll möglichst vor dem Auswahlverfahren stattfinden. Hierfür bitte per Email bei Prof. Grohmann (steffen grohmannKha6∂kit edu) für die Sprechstunde anmelden.

3. Auswahlverfahren findet in der letzten Januarwoche/ersten Februarwoche statt.
Angesichts der begrenzten Anzahl von Plätzen und dem Wunsch der Studierenden nach Universitäten, an denen nur Englisch als Sprachnachweis verlangt wird, kann eine Nominierung an die Wunschuniversität nicht garantiert werden. Die Auswahl erfolgt - wenn möglich - nach Interesse, aber auch über Leistungsnachweis und/oder Losverfahren.

4. Nach dem Auswahlverfahren werden die Bewerber per Email informiert für welche Universität sie ausgewählt wurden. Die Bewerber werden auch benachrichtigt, wenn die Bewerbung nicht erfolgreich war.

5. Eine Liste der ausgewählten Studierenden wird von Frau Benoit bis Mitte Februar an das International Students Office geschickt.

5. Die ausgewählten Studierenden erhalten daraufhin vom International Students Office einen Link zum Anmeldeformular in Mobility Online. Dort müssen die persönlichen Daten und die Daten der Mobilität eingegeben werden. Alle weiteren Informationen erhalten die Studierenden ebenfalls vom International Students Office.

6. Das Learning Agreement (Learning Agreement) muss zur Prüfung und Unterschrift bei Frau Benoit per Email eingereicht werden. Bitte immer nur die relevanten Seiten einreichen, z.B. vor der Mobilität "Before the Mobility" oder bei Änderungen während der Mobilität "During the Mobility". Das unterschriebene Learning Agreement wird dann nach Unterschrift per Email an die Studierenden zurückgeschickt und kann dann bei der Partnerhochschule eingereicht bzw. in Mobility Online hochgeladen werden.

7. Studierende, die sich Pflichtmodule im Bachelor, Teile des Vertiefungsfaches oder eine erweiterte Grundlage im Master anerkennen lassen möchten, müssen sich vorab die Zusage vom Fachvertreter einholen. Hierzu muss folgendes Formular verwendet werden: Prüfungsplanvereinbarung zur Anerkennung von Studienleistungen. Die Prüfungsplanvereinbarung muss zusammen mit dem Learning Agreement eingereicht werden.

8. Für die Anerkennung des Technischen Ergänzungsfaches ist es ratsam, eine kurze Inhaltsangabe an Frau Benoit zu senden, damit überprüft werden kann, ob das Fach "technisch" genug ist und eine Anerkennung möglich ist. Bitte beim Technischen Ergänzungsfach auf das Level des Faches achten. Für Studierende im Master muss das Technische Ergänzungsfach auch Master-Level haben.

Wichtige Änderung der Anmeldefristen: Es gibt nur noch EINEN Bewerbungstermin !

Bewerbungen für das Sommersemester müssen auch schon zum Wintersemester erfolgen

Bewerbungsfrist intern (Frau Benoit) für Bewerbungen:        22.01.

Bewerbungsfrist IStO für Bewerbungen:                                   15.02.

Restplätze können auch noch später vergeben werden, allerdings gibt es dann keine Stipendiengarantie.


Anerkennung der im Ausland erbrachten Prüfungsleistungen

Die Anrechnung von im Ausland erbrachten Leistungen erfolgt bei Frau Benoit. Hierfür gehen die Studierenden mit dem von der Partnerhochschule ausgestellten Transcript of Records zu Frau Benoit, Geb. 40.51, Raum 304. In Zeiten von Corona: Bitte das Transcript of Records per Email senden !

Noten

Die anerkannten Leistungen werden mit Note übernommen, wenn die erhaltenen Noten in unser Notensystem übertragen werden können. Grundlage der Notenübertragung ist die Tabelle der TU Berlin.

Masterarbeit

Formale Zuständigkeit (inkl. Benotung) für die Masterarbeit durch Fachvertreter(in) aus der hiesigen Fakultät muss vorab gesichert sein.

Industriepraktikum

Anerkennung erfolgt gegebenenfalls nach Prüfung durch das Praktikantenamt. Informationen zum Industriepraktikum im Ausland erteilt KOOR/BEST (https://www.hs-karlsruhe.de/cc/stipendien/auslandspraktika-erasmus-praktika-programm/ueber-koorbest/)

 

Allgemeine bzw. fachliche Beratung:

  • erfahrene Studierende
  • Fachvertreter(innen) mit Kontakten
  • Erasmus-Koordinator

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Steffen Grohmann

Institut für Technische Thermodynamik und Kältetechnik
Kälte- und Kryotechnik
Gebäude 40.32, Raum 132
Sprechstunde: Dienstag 14.00 – 15:30
Steffen GrohmannSzu9∂kit edu
Tel. +49 721 608 - 42332

 

Allgemeine Empfehlungen der Fakultät zu Auslandsaufenthalten in den Bachelor- und Master-Studiengängen

Bachelor

Es können im Ausland Wahlfächer, Zusatzmodule oder ein Industriepraktikum absolviert werden, sowie in Absprache mit einem/einer Fachvertreter(in) der Fakultät auch die Bachelor-Arbeit.

Master

Im Falle eines Auslandsaufenthalts während des Master-Studiums können das Industriepraktikum, Module oder auch Teilmodule des Master-Curriculums nach Absprache mit den jeweiligen Modulverantwortlichen der Fakultät absolviert werden. Am einfachsten sind Technische Ergänzungsfächer, Überfachliche Qualifikation und Zusatzleistungen (s.o.).

 

Auslandsaufenthalt außerhalb Erasmus

Informationen beim International Students Office (IStO) (www.intl.kit.edu/ostudent)
fachliche Beratung: Fachvertreter(in)

Beispiel: Ba-Wü Programm

 

Arbeitskreis Erasmus

Der Arbeitskreis Erasmus ist eine studentische Hochschulgruppe, welche einerseits die ankommenden ausländischen Studenten in Karlsruhe betreut und andererseits Karlsruher Studenten über die Möglichkeiten im Ausland zu studieren berät.

In diesem Rahmen bietet der Arbeitskreis u.a. wöchentlich eine Sprechstunde an, in der sich die Karlsruher Studenten über die Möglichkeiten des Auslandsstudiums beraten lassen können. Ebenso haben die Studenten die Möglichkeit, sich auf der Homepage des Arbeitskreises (www.ak-erasmus.de) selbst zu informieren.