Research

The research that the institutes of the KIT Department of Chemical and Process Engineering conduct plays an important role in sharpening KIT's profile in the socially relevant areas energy, mobility and information. The nationally and internationally renowned research of the KIT Department covers process engineering issues from scientific bases to technical applications and from laboratory experiments to pilot plants.

Main areas of research are:

  • Development of processes and methods for closing material and energy cycles as the basis of a sustainable society (circular economy)
  • Synthesis of chemical energy sources from ubiquitous materials and renewable energy
  • Development of innovative, resource-saving process engineering and biotechnological processes for the processing of raw materials of biological origin into biopharmaceuticals, foods, fine chemicals and basic materials for the chemical industry
  • Development of processes for water reuse
  • Development and use of digital tools for bioengineering and chemical engineering

The researchers of the department lead and coordinate national and international research projects (DFG, BMBF, EU, ...) and contribute significantly to the research programs of the Helmholtz Association.

3PMKIT
Energy independence: KIT produces synthetic methane from biomass

The bioliq® plant at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) can produce a synthesis gas from carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide and hydrogen, among other things, from residues from agriculture and forestry. KIT researchers have now succeeded for the first time in producing methane from this, which, after appropriate processing, could be fed directly into the German natural gas grid and replace fossil gas. In the three-phase methanisation process used for this purpose, a catalyst is suspended in a liquid. This is located in a bubble column reactor through which the synthesis gas flows.

More Information
NecocKIT
Joint operation of the climate-friendly NECOC process begins

Extracting the greenhouse gas CO2 from the atmosphere and converting it into a stable carbon through combined processes - this is what a new plant network at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has been doing this month. The process, developed in the NECOC research project together with industrial partners, combines negative emissions with the production of a high-tech raw material. Now it is to be optimised in terms of energy and scaled up.

More Information
PartikelHermann Nirschl/KIT
Process technology: A modular system for particle production

New interdisciplinary DFG priority program to develop concepts for safe production: Battery materials, medicines, solar cells, 3D-printed components, all these products consist to a predominant extent of particles. Particulate products are of great importance in everyday life and in numerous technical applications. At the same time, the production process today is still predominantly based on many years of experience. The priority program "Autonomous Processes in Particle Technology" recently approved by the German Research Foundation (DFG) under the leadership of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) aims to bring more systematics into production.

More Information

Lab visit

Institute of Thermal Process Engineering - NECOC

Institute for Technical Chemistry- Plastics Pyrolysis Lab

Institute for Micro Process Engineering - 3D Printing

Latest publications of the institutes of the KIT Department


Matthes, J.; Kollmer, M.; Eberhard, M.; Hagenmeyer, V.; Kolb, T. (2022). A Highspeed‐Camera Based Measurement System for the High‐Pressure Entrained‐Flow Gasification. Chemical Engineering & Technology. doi:10.1002/ceat.202200434
Haas, M.; Fleck, S.; Böning, D.; Santo, U.; Kolb, T. (2022). Entrained‐flow gasification of pyrolysis oil – Influence of flame structure on fuel conversion. Chemie Ingenieur Technik, 94 (9), 1294. doi:10.1002/cite.202255060
Busch, L.; Grohmann, S. (2022). Conceptual layout of a helium cooling system for the Einstein Telescope. IOP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering, 1240 (1), 012095. doi:10.1088/1757-899x/1240/1/012095
Gmurek, M.; Borowska, E.; Schwartz, T.; Horn, H. (2022). Does light-based tertiary treatment prevent the spread of antibiotic resistance genes? Performance, regrowth and future direction. Science of the Total Environment, 817, Art.-Nr.: 153001. doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2022.153001

Die KIT-Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik trägt mit der Forschung ihrer Institute wesentlich zur Profilschärfung des KIT in den gesellschaftlichen Bedarfsfeldern Energie, Mobilität und Information bei. Die national und international hoch anerkannte Forschung der KIT-Fakultät umfasst verfahrenstechnische Fragestellungen von den naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen bis in die technische Anwendung und vom Laborexperiment bis zur Pilotanlage.

Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind:

  • Entwicklung von Prozessen und Verfahren zur Schließung von Stoff- und Energiekreisläufen als Basis einer nachhaltig wirtschaftenden Gesellschaft (Circular Economy)
  • Synthese chemischer Energieträger aus ubiquitären Stoffen und erneuerbarer Energie
  • Entwicklung innovativer, ressourcenschonender verfahrenstechnischer und biotechnologischer Prozesse zur Verarbeitung von Rohstoffen biologischen Ursprungs zu Biopharmazeutika, Lebensmitteln, Feinchemikalien und Grundstoffen für die chemische Industrie
  • Entwicklung von Verfahren zur Wasserwieder- und -weiterverwendung
  • Entwicklung und Nutzung digitaler Werkzeuge für das gesamte Bio- und Chemieingenieurwesen

Die Forschenden der Fakultät leiten und koordinieren nationale und internationale Forschungsprojekte (DFG, BMBF, EU, …) und tragen wesentlich zu den Forschungsprogrammen der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft bei. 

3PMKIT
Energieunabhängigkeit: KIT produziert synthetisches Methan aus Biomasse

Die bioliq®-Anlage am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) kann aus Reststoffen der Agrar- und Forstwirtschaft unter anderem ein Synthesegas aus Kohlenstoffmonoxid, Kohlenstoffdioxid und Wasserstoff herstellen. Forschenden des KIT ist es nun zum ersten Mal gelungen, daraus Methan zu produzieren, das nach entsprechender Aufbereitung direkt in das deutsche Erdgasnetz eingespeist werden und fossiles Gas ersetzen könnte. Bei der dazu eingesetzten Dreiphasen-Methanisierung wird ein Katalysator in einer Flüssigkeit suspendiert. Diese befindet sich in einem Blasensäulenreaktor, durch den das Synthesegas strömt

Weitere Informationen
StrohKIT
KIT und Universität Hohenheim: Bioraffinerie am Bauernhof der Zukunft

KIT und Universität Hohenheim forschen in einem gemeinsamen Technikum – Restbiomasse lässt sich zu neuen Materialien und Energieträgern veredeln – Konzept schließt Kreisläufe vor Ort.

Eine Bioraffinerie-Farm errichten das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Universität Hohenheim. Mit ihrer gemeinsamen Initiative zielen sie auf wirtschaftliche und nachhaltige technische Lösungen zur Verwertung von biogenen Reststoffen: Kleine Bioraffinerien, angesiedelt an Bauernhöfen, liefern Materialien und Energieträger, schließen Kreisläufe vor Ort und tragen dazu bei, Natur und Klima zu schützen.

Mehr Informationen
PartikelHermann Nirschl/KIT
Prozesstechnik: Ein Baukasten für die Partikelproduktion

Neues interdisziplinäres DFG-Schwerpunktprogramm soll Konzepte zur sicheren Produktion entwickeln: Batteriematerialien, Medikamente, Solarzellen, 3D-gedruckte Bauteile, all diese Produkte bestehen zu einem überwiegenden Teil aus Partikeln. Partikuläre Produkte haben eine große Bedeutung im alltäglichen Leben und in zahlreichen technischen Anwendungen. Zugleich basiert der Produktionsprozess heute noch überwiegend auf langjähriger Erfahrung. Das kürzlich von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) bewilligte Schwerpunktprogramm „Autonome Prozesse in der Partikeltechnik“ unter Federführung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) soll mehr Systematik in die Produktion bringen.

Mehr Informationen

Aktuelle Publikationen von Instituten der Fakultät