Doctoral Procedure

At the beginning of your doctoral studies you have registered as a doctoral candidate and would now like to bring your procedure to a successful conclusion? Then the next step is the application for admission to the doctoral procedure and the submission of the dissertation. The doctoral procedure will be concluded with an oral examination.

For doctoral studies at the KIT Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, the published Doctoral Regulations 2017 apply. If a doctoral agreement was started before June 27, 2017, doctoral studies are also possible after the Doctoral Regulations 2011.

The important procedural steps and notes are summarized below, but do not replace a thorough reading of the applicable doctoral regulations.

You would like to apply to change doctoral regulations? An electronic application form as well as an information factsheet for your application for admission to the doctoral procedure is provided for you in the web portal Docata.

If you have any questions regarding your access to Docata, please contact the Docata team via docata∂khys.kit.edu.

Contact

Ute Schweppenheiser

For submission of documents please make an appointment!

Room: Building 40.12, Room -104
Phone: +49 721 608-46378 (in the afternoon)
promotionen∂ciw kit edu

You would like to apply for the admission to the doctoral procedure according to the doctoral regulations 2011? In this case, you submit your application for admission to the doctoral procedure to the dean’s office of your KIT Department. Information on the process and necessary steps can be found below.

Application for admission to the doctoral procedure

With the submission of the dissertation (by appointment with Ms. Schweppenheiser), the application for the admission to the doctoral procedure is made. The following documents must be submitted for this purpose:

  • Application for the admission to the doctoral procedure including the title of the thesis, first supervisor, applicable doctoral regulations and contact details of the applicant. This application must be addressed to the dean on private letterhead!
  • An uncertified copy of the Diploma/Master's degree certificate
  • An uncertified copy of the Diploma/Master's transcript
  • University entrance qualification/Abitur certificate
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Three (in case of two co-examiners four) copies of the dissertation (examination copies) with English and German abstract, table of contents, bibliography and curriculum vitae.If an additional examiner is consulted, a further examination copy must be submitted.
  • Obligatory cover sheet for the examination copy of the dissertation thesis (DOC)
  • Five (in case of two co-examiners six) abstracts (3 to max. 10 pages) with curriculum vitae and cover sheet written in the same language as the long version.
  • List of publications
  • Declaration of the supervisor (sufficiently published)
  • Proposal of second supervisor from first supervisor
  • Declaration of independent work etc. (see doctoral regulations § 5, 4.)
  • Declaration of other doctoral procedures (§ 5, 9.)
  • Declaration of criminal proceedings (§ 5, 10.)
  • Official certificate of good conduct/alternatively current KIT employment contract

 

You would like to apply for the admission to the doctoral procedure according to the latest doctoral regulations 2017?

Please log in to the web portal Docata. There you will find a leaflet in the document pool (Merkblatt_ChemVer2017) with all the necessary, faculty-specific information for opening your procedure. Please read this tcarefully and then complete the following steps:

  1.     Read the leaflet, prepare and have ready the necessary documents.
  2.     Log in to Docata and complete the eletronic application form.
  3.     Download the application form for admission to the doctoral procedure, sign it, and hand it in to the dean's office (incl. documents)

You will save yourself and us a lot of time if you design your titel page in the exact form, format and wording as specified in the sample. No deviations are permitted.

If you are planning to submit a publication-based dissertation (cumulative doctorate), please consider the following information.

If you have any questions regarding your access to Docata, please contact the Docata team via docata∂khys.kit.edu.

 

Oral examination

At the earliest, the oral examination can take place three weeks after receipt of all reviews.

Doctoral degree certificate and doctoral degree report

Within one year after passing the oral examination, the doctoral candidate has to publish the dissertation ina versionapprovedby the reviewers. Please refer to the doctoral regulations and the information of the KIT library.

In addition to the copies for the library, the doctoral candidate must submit one copy to the Dean's Office for each reviewer and one copy to the Dean's Office within this period. Exclusively in the Dean's Office copy, the following statement is to be entered by hand on one of the first pages, dated and signed. "I certify that the dissertation presented here is in accordance with the submitted and approved examination copy of the doctoral thesis."

Only then will you receive your doctoral degree certificate and the doctoral degree report.

Promovieren - Verfahren!

Sie haben sich zu Beginn Ihrer Promotionszeit als Doktorand bzw. Doktorandin registriert und möchten nun Ihr Verfahren erfolgreich zu Ende bringen? Dann erfolgt als nächster Schritt die Abgabe der Dissertation und die Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens, welches mit dem Ablegen einer mündlichen Prüfung abgeschlossen wird.

Für Promotionen an der KIT-Fakultät Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik gilt die veröffentlichte Promotionsordnung 2017. Wurde eine Promotion vor dem 27. Juni 2017 begonnen, so ist die Promotion auch nach der Promotionsordnung 2011 möglich.

Die wichtigsten Verfahrensschritte und Hinweise sind im Folgenden zusammengefasst, ersetzen aber nicht das gründliche Lesen der jeweils gültigen Promotionsordnung.

Sie möchten (vor der Beantragung der Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens) den Wechsel der Promotionsordnung beantragen? Das elektronische Antragsformular mit allen notwendigen, fakultätsspezifischen Informationen zur Beantragung finden Sie im Webportal Docata.

Ansprechperson

Ute Schweppenheiser

Zur Einreichung von Unterlagen vereinbaren Sie bitte einen Termin!

Raum: Geb. 40.12, Raum -104
Tel.: +49 721 608-46378 (nachmittags)
promotionen∂ciw kit edu

Sie möchten die Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahren gemäß der Promotionsordnung 2011 beantragen? In diesem Fall reichen Sie Ihren Antrag auf Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens (Promotionsgesuch) wie bisher bei der KIT-Fakultät ein:

Eröffnung des Verfahrens

Mit der Abgabe der Dissertation (nach Terminvereinbarung mit Frau Schweppenheiser) wird der Antrag auf Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens gestellt. Folgende Unterlagen sind hierfür einzureichen:

  • Antrag auf Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens mit Angabe des Titels der Arbeit, Erstbetreuer bzw. Erstbetreuerin, zutreffender Promotionsordnung und Kontaktdaten des Antragsstellers bzw. der Antragstellerin. Dieser Antrag ist mit privatem Briefkopf an den Dekan zu adressieren!
  • eine unbeglaubigte Kopie der Diplom-/Masterurkunde
  • eine unbeglaubigte Kopie des Diplom-/Masterzeugnisses
  • Hochschulzugangsberechtigung/Abiturzeugnis
  • Lebenslauf
  • Drei (bei zwei Zweitgutachtenden vier) Exemplare der Dissertation (Prüfungsexemplare) mit englischer und deutscher Zusammenfassung, Inhaltsverzeichnis, Literaturverzeichnis und Lebenslauf. Falls ein zusätzlicher Gutachter bzw. eine zusätzliche Gutachterin hinzugezogen wird, muss ein weiteres Prüfungsexemplar abgegeben werden.
  • verbindliches Musterdeckblatt für das Prüfungsexemplar der Dissertationsschrift (DOC)
  • Fünf (bei zwei Zweitgutachtenden sechs) Kurzfassungen (3 bis max. 10 Seiten) mit Lebenslauf und Deckblatt in der gleichen Sprache verfasst wie die Langfassung
  • Liste der Veröffentlichungen
  • Erklärung des Betreuers bzw. der Betreuerin (ausreichend publiziert)
  • Vorschlag Zweitgutachter bzw. Zweitgutachterin vom Erstbetreuer
  • Erklärung Arbeit selbständig etc. (s. Promotionsordnung § 5, 4.)
  • Erklärung andere Promotionsverfahren (§ 5, 9.)
  • Erklärung Strafverfahren (§ 5, 10.)
  • Amtliches Führungszeugnis/ersatzweise aktueller KIT-Arbeitsvertrag

 

Sie möchten die Zulassung zum Promotionsverfahren nach der neuesten Promotionsordnung 2017 beantragen?

Bitte logen Sie sich im Webportal Docata ein. Dort finden Sie im Dokumentenpool ein Merkblatt (Merkblatt_ChemVer2017) mit allen notwendigen, fakultätsspezifischen Informationen zur Eröffnung Ihres Verfahrens. Bitte lesen Sie dies gründlich und aufmerksam durch und absolvieren dann die dort genannten Schritte:

  1. Merkblatt lesen und notwendige Unterlagen erstellen und bereithalten
  2. Login in Docata und Ausfüllen des Assistenten Promotionsgesuch
  3. Herunterladen und unterschreiben Antrag Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens und Einreichung (inkl. Unterlagen) im Dekanat

Sie sparen sich und uns viel Zeit, wenn Sie Ihr Deckblatt in Form, Format und Wortlaut exakt so gestalten, wie es das Musterdeckblatt vorgibt. Es sind keine Abweichungen zulässig.

Planen Sie die Einreichung einer publikationsbasierten Dissertationen (kumulative Promotion), dann beachten Sie bitte folgende Hinweise.

Bei Fragen zu Ihrem Docata-Zugang wenden Sie sich bitte an das Docata-Team unter docata∂khys.kit.edu.

 

Mündliche Prüfung

Die mündliche Prüfung kann frühestens drei Wochen nach Eingang aller Gutachten stattfinden.

Aushändigung der Doktorurkunde und des Promotionszeugnisses

Innerhalb eines Jahres nach Bestehen der mündlichen Prüfung ist die Dissertation von dem Doktoranden oder der Doktorandin in einer von den Gutachtenden genehmigten Fassung zu veröffentlichen. Bitte beachten Sie dazu die jeweils gültige Promotionsordnung und die Informationen der KIT-Bibliothek.

Zusätzlich zu den Exemplaren für die Bibliothek haben die Promovierenden innerhalb dieser Frist beim Dekanat für jeden Gutachter und jede Gutachterin und für das Dekanat je ein Exemplar abzugeben. Ausschließlich im Dekanatsexemplar ist auf einer der ersten Seiten folgende Erklärung per Hand einzutragen, zu datieren und mit einer Unterschrift zu versehen. "Ich versichere, dass die hier vorliegende Dissertation mit dem eingereichten und genehmigten Prüfungsexemplar der Doktorarbeit übereinstimmt."

Erst danach erhalten Sie Ihre Doktorurkunde und Ihr Promotionszeugnis.